Reseñas para

Not Available

Opiniones sobre Productos (101)

Do Not Buy This Washer!

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Does not remove stain nor odor.

I have owned this washer for 6 months and during that time my clothes have become imbedded with odor and stains because each successive washing gets the clothes less clean. The washer uses very little water and the result is clothes that are stained and smell bad. I have tried everything including soaking 90 minutes and then washing for 90 minutes. I use detergent, bleach and stain remover, but nothing works. Government mandated HE washers are a a nightmare. I cannot find a traditional washing machine on the market. Thanks to government mandates, I am forced to try to locate a refurbished traditional washing machine.

Por robertamarie - Jun 24, 2011

Big Dissapointment

Puntos Fuertes: Saves water

Puntos Débiles: Washer gets off balance and clothes that are no supposed to be no- iron require ironing; they are all tangled up when cycle completes.

I had a washing machine that was old and constantly got off balance; when I purchased this one I explained that to the sales person. He advised me against getting a front loader because it gets the clothes unbalanced; it could not be any worse than this one.If you put in a very small amount of clothing it works fine except for the fact they are wrinkled and tangled. But towels or anything like a blanket --- OMG.I washed a blanket today and thought it would never complete; I had to go to the machine about six times to balance it and then more water would come in. It was awful. I had no way of just spinning the water out without more water coming in.About six weeks after I purchased the Cabrio washer I complained to the people I purchased it from and I was told it was the best by Consumer Report. At that time it has a strange sound as well and they did send someone to fix that; he found a small piece of plastic that had not been removed from the manufacturer / Whirlpool. BUT that was all they could do for me.So, I live with this but would never purchase another and wish I had not this one.

Por JG29072 - May 31, 2011

Whirlpool Cabrio Washer/Dryer ......you will be more than sorry if you buy these products

Puntos Fuertes: Zero.....very loud....constant break downs.....dosent clean clothes at all....you could do a better job with a washboard and a bucket...sour/mold smell to your clothes especially dark clothing

Puntos Débiles: The entire Cabrio line is garbage / service people like them because they make money fixing them / garbage machines and whirlpool should be ashamed / an absolute nightmare / I will never own whirlpool

Obviously Whirlpool has got a serious problem on their hands...this Cabrio line of appliances is total junk and should never have been sold to the general public....This product is so poorly made it is embarrassing for Whirlpool. I am quite sure the board of directors and all the investors enjoyed the high profits low cost to manufacture this garbage....but at what cost...how many thousands of potential customer will be lost forever to whirlpool due to the worthless machines they have let out of the factory with the name Whirlpool on them...I'm pretty sure Cabrio mean "worthless piece of junk " in Spanish ....Please do yourself a favor and purchase something else...don't buy these disposable poorly manufactured machines ...unless that is you prefer to spend hundred on parts and labor on machines you just purchased only a couple years ago....yep they only have a one year factory warranty...and thats when the problems start to happen...you will remember what I have said here if you buy these...once your machines go south in about a year from date of purchase..rps sensors...main boards....Stattors that drive the motor to spin...they all have been replaced some twice....Purchased for my wife brand new from Lowes for 1600.00 as she always wanted he machines so I let her pick out a set she wanted...To bad it was whirlpool....should have purchased the Samsung's the first time....Trust me .....you will be so much better off to stay away from the Whirlpool products...I will never purchase or allow another whirlpool product in my home again....as a matter of fact ...my inllaws were looking for some new appliances for their vacation home and I convinced them never to buy Whirlpool ....Samsung / Kenmore elite ........trust me.....

Por Whirlfool - Oct 12, 2011

Defective water pumps

Puntos Fuertes: No strengths

Puntos Débiles: Replaced water pum twice

Three years ago we purchased a Cabrio washer, model WTW6400SW. I already have replace two leaky water pumps within the last two years and it is leaking again. Help!!

Por rmoros252 - Mar 30, 2010

impact its success???

Puntos Fuertes: none

Puntos Débiles: no compensation for horrific quality

Have been house-sitting for my sister. Wonderful house with all kinds of handy hi-tech appliances. I can appreciate them! HOWEVER!!!! OMG!!!!! Never seen such pieces of crap as these washers and dryers! What; they really want us to comment on the little points they could improve on ??? Yeah, Right? In my own home, I have a washer and dryer that cost me 950.00 10 years ago. They still work wonderfully!! I am a laundry fanatic, and I am very pleased with my machines' performance. Been trying my best to put her Cabrios to their best advantage to work on our laundry (by the way I have A Ph.D. in mechanical engineering)... there is no getting around this problem of an extraordinarily pathetic excuse of poor research and engineering; by a company that Americans thought they could trust in. For cryin' out loud!!! WHIRPOOL?????? REALLY?????

Por teresav4 - Oct 23, 2011

This is the worst product ever

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Loud, expensive and worthless

I have had my machines repaired 9 times over the last 3 years. DO NOT waste your money and Whirlpool is not supportive of thier products.

Por wilycat - Jun 17, 2010

DONT SPEND YOUR MONEY

Puntos Fuertes: NO STRENGHTS

Puntos Débiles: WRINKLES/TANGLES/DOESN'T USE ENOUGH WATER, LEAVES CLOTHES DRY, DOESN'T WASH THOROUGHLY. We've had this washer for one day and it already is giving us all these problems. It is horrible. Last time i ch

THIS WASHER SUCKS DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND OR MONEY. wont wash, will tangle, tear, rip, apart all your clothing. Makes everything a major problem

Por nicholep2008 - Oct 6, 2010

Whirlpool Cabrio Washer WTW5500XW0

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: WRINKLES/TANGLES/DOESN'T USE ENOUGH WATER, LEAVES CLOTHES DRY, DOESN'T WASH THOROUGHLY. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND OR MONEY. Wont wash, will tangle, tear, rip, apart all your clothing.

I really LOATHE my WhirlPoole Cabrio "clothes care system" washer. It rips clothes, doesn't clean clothes, towels stink. I have to put 2 quarts of water in each load before I start it so it will sense more weight and increase the water level. Having moderate cleaning success with this effort. Whirlpoole will not admit they made a BIG mistake here.

Por lynnsnotes12 - Apr 22, 2011

DON'T BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!!!

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: CONSTANTLY OUT OF SERVICE---CONSTANT REPAIRS----WE PAID MORE FOR REPAIRS IN THE FIRST TWO YEARS THAN WE DID FOR THE MACHINE

I HATE this machine. We were so excited to purchase the Cabrio with the HUGE wash tub and all the features. It has been a nightmare since we got it home. The computer board has gone out twice, it won't drain the water out of the tub. You practically have to stand and watch it as it washes so it doesn't get off balance. If you don't monitor the machine while it runs you never know if your laundry will be done when you go back or if it is stuck in some type of error mode. We have had to call in repair companies more times than I can count.

We have always been pleased with Whirlpool products in the past but this $1,000.00 washing machine that hasn't worked properly since we purchased it 3 1/2 years ago has soured us against anything Whirpool makes. We have complained to the company and they have advised they will have to send out a service representative to our home to check the machine. They are in no hurry to do this and meanwhile I trek back and forth to the laundry mat. WHILE MY $1,000.00 WASHING MACHINE SITS IN THE LAUNDRY ROOM COLLECTING DUST.

Oh how I wish I could un-do this purchase. I could have gotten a more reliable washing machine from the junk yard.

Por mbphillips - Jul 7, 2010

Never Again

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Not enough Water is used to clean clother

I am a mother of 3 boys. Doesn't get grass stains out of pants. Doesn't use enough water to clean clothes - ODORS STILL STAY IN THE CLOTHS AFTER FIRST WASH!! WISH I HAD MY OLD MACHINE BACK!! You need water to clean clothes. Don't think you are saving on your water bill because I guarantee you will have to wash certain clothes up to 3-4 times! Don't like the fact the machine controls me when I need to add clothes and washing for a family takes a lot longer than my old machine!!! Dont' buy this machine, it doesn't save you time, energy or money.

By anonymous; - May 30, 2012

I can wash laundry better on my abs.. and I'm fat

Puntos Fuertes: Looks high-tech on the salesroom floor. Makes adorable electronic 'ding' noises when scrolling through wash cycles. Doubles as a keg cooler.

Puntos Débiles: "You Spin me Right Round Baby" is not this washer's theme song. It left my clothes dirty and doesn't spin thoroughly, unless you run it through a second rinse/spin cycle. LOUD!

I returned it in less than 2 weeks; and based off the reviews of others I'm glad i did. Do yourself a favor and avoid the whole "high efficiency" trend sweeping the nation (don't even get me started on the toilet). Stick with what works.. a normal frikkin washer.

Por dave13748 - Jul 12, 2010

Cabrio Washer is the worst purchase I've ever made

Puntos Fuertes: None. Help this by finding a way to disable the auto-lock.

Puntos Débiles: the whole machine is poorly thought out. I hate the auto lock feature and it failed within the first month. Find a way to disable it.

Following all the instructions to the detail, it still has the worst cleaning ability of any washer I've ever used, including a public laundromat. I like to access the water as it comes in to rince down the surfaces under the cover before I close it. Dirt and soap build up, rust sets in, its already nasty looking. Bleach spills out onto my clothes before the water comes in and ruins things. "Water Saver" Bull! I have to pre-soak first then wash everything twice with an extra rince. Shame on you Whirlpool for putting your name on this. This will be my last Whirlpool product, you'v lost your most loyal customer of 42 years.

Por mkkelly - Feb 12, 2012

I HATE MY WHIRLPOOL CABRIO

Puntos Fuertes: It does use less water, spins out more water so drying time is less

Puntos Débiles: Gets unbalanced easily, clothes end up tied almost in knots by the end of the cycle

I bought a Cabrio 2 years ago and every time I use it I wish I had bought a different washing machine. It does small loads just fine. When you put a lot of clothes in it of different weights and sizes they end up tangled into a nightmare. I also do not find that when I wash a lot of clothes that they come clean, my old style washer did large loads well. I hate washing sheets in it as they end up in a ball on one side of the machine then it gets unbalanced. I paid a huge price for this machine and hate it. One in every 3 loads I wash gets unbalanced even if I load it well and pay attention to how I load it. Yes it holds a lot but does not wash a lot at one time well. If I load small wash loads it does fine. The Cabrio also does not wash bulky items well. Yes they fit, but do not come out clean due to the fact that there is not an agitator.

Por Texasretired - Jun 27, 2009

Cabio..Clunker!!!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Nice Looks

Puntos Débiles: Unreliable!!!

After 3 years our $1000.00 Cabrio bit the dust...this washer has a BIG problem when it comes to washing sheets..uneven and the cycle shuts down...so expect that!
Whirlpool was our choice for years...now its time for the new LG to show its stuff!!!!

Por sudman2 - Feb 15, 2010

cabrio washer by whirlpool

Puntos Fuertes: saves water

Puntos Débiles: dribbles water all over the floor. clumps clothes in odd configurations. doesn't clean any better than regular washers.

We have spent over half the initial cost of this washer on repairs, most notably the water pump, and it still dribbles water on the floor during every washing. I would not, not, not recommend this washer.

Por sallyval - May 23, 2012

Clothes still dirty

Puntos Fuertes: Fits huge loads

Puntos Débiles: Doesn't clean well at all. The amount of detergent to use is in question.

Because the machine decides how big your load is, how much it weighs, how much water to use-it doesn't tell you! You have to guess how much detergent to use. No matter how much or little I use my laundry still isn't clean. This is really sad considering this was a pricey machine!

Por santashillea - Mar 16, 2009

Whirlpool Cabrio WTW6400SW Washer

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: EVERYTHING - NO WATER TO CLEAN CLOTHES - HARD TO FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS - NEED EXPENSIVE DETERGENT AND STILL DOES NOT CLEAN CLOTHES.

WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER PRODUCT BY WHIRLPOOL; NOR AT THE STORE I PURCHASED IT. BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER PURCHASED.

By anonymous; - Mar 27, 2012

Cabrios an absolute joke

Puntos Fuertes: Looks like the Rolls Royce of washers...

Puntos Débiles: Somehow washes IN odors, absolutely does not clean, does not rinse!

I am happily paying a $120 plus "restocking" fee plus delivery to the small clearance outlet I foolishly purchased this nightmare from to GET IT OUT OF MY HOUSE! I feel so much compassion to all of you remaining "owners" and feel like we should start a support club. I invited my salesman who raved about it to my house to watch 1 load (2 miles away) and to never sell it again. He only responded that he was surprised I was the FIRST person that ever complained about the machine and that it's his BEST SELLING MACHINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So I now have a secret weapon when I go to appliance stores and that is to act fascinated with the Cabrio and if the salesman offers no apprehension RUN!!!!I am checking out Goodwills, etc. to find a good machine. I am not wealthy but money is not my consideration. Like many women I consider myself a laundry expert. Why I didn't do more research is beyond me...I VERY foolishly thought that at that price it must work wonderful. Do not buy this machine or trust anyone that recommends it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Por Kirleesue2001 - Mar 24, 2012

Poor Quality

Puntos Fuertes: Large Capacity

Puntos Débiles: Have to babysit machine

I dont know what Whirlpool did wrong with this machine but it hardly ever gets through a load without becoming unbalanced. Sometimes it can take up to an hour to wash a load of clothes. Can't leave house with wash going because in all likelihood I have to stop washer to rebalance load. Had a front loader and dealer talked me into this one. Big mistake!!

Por JeffK655 - Dec 26, 2011

UNWASHING Machine

Puntos Fuertes: pretty see through top, electrical panel

Puntos Débiles: DOES NOT CLEAN, Will NOT clean large loads

MISTAKE!!! We bought the cabrio clear top less than a month ago and are already taking it back! I've had to wash the same load of clothes 3x's sometimes just to get them clean. Because of the inability to clean well, you also have to have small to medium size loads to ensure the best cleaning success. It definitely does not allow you to maximize the big tub b/c it just doesn't clean efficiently. The first load I washed (I filled it too full obviously, but just below the top of washer tub) and some of my clothes came out with dry spots on them - they didn't even get WET, much less CLEAN. This mother of 3 will be buying a new washer and returing this pretty one to the store!!!

Por ryanrstewart - Jan 6, 2010

where's the energy savings?

Puntos Fuertes: cool bell sounds with the sittings

Puntos Débiles: everything

I ditto the comments given by the people who gave this product 1 star. I think the public have been taken by this "HE" type washer. It takes twice as long as my old washer, have to set for extra rinse or the darks have soap residue. I have a load in right now that is set to go for 73 minutes. How can that possibly be energy efficent? Goverment get out of the washer and dryer business and let us have our "old" style washer back that just cleans the clothes!

Por carrellandco - Jun 18, 2012

What a poorly designed washer machine!

Puntos Fuertes: none

Puntos Débiles: poorly cleans clothes. Just unwraped( many times) all of the clothes from a item that encompased them over the middle of the washer. Takes 74 minutes to wash whites.

I have always bought Whirlpool washing machine from Sears for many many years. We were very loyal to the product. I thought I was not using the machine properly when I first bought it and wanted to give it time to try different methods of use. (different products, adding bleach,using the white cycle for more than whites. I haved had such a disapointment in this product that I would do everything I can to tell people to not buy the machine.The machine also is so loud, our laundry room is right off the kitchen, we can't listen to the tv,radio or have a confersation without turning up the volumn or raising our voices.I had my old whirlpool for many many years and we also gave our old ones to our kids who used them for a longer period of time. I wish I had kept my old one and never changed.PLEASE DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!

Por dhysongwager57 - May 24, 2012

Whirlpool sells lemons

Puntos Fuertes: Washes clothes when it works... ish

Puntos Débiles: It breaks

After two years the washer started to become way loud so we called in a tech who told us the bearing was going out and it would cost $550 to fix but that whirlpool would take care of us. So I call them and I get "sorry sir there is nothing we can do" so now I have a $1000 washer that needs a $550 repair to even get it working and Whirlpool won't help out at all....crazy

Por bigred411 - May 15, 2012

Whirlpool cabrio

Puntos Fuertes: big loads

Puntos Débiles: too many to list

I absolutely HATE this machine. I have a large family and launder daily. This machine is stressing me out! It constantly breaks. Everything has been wrong with it: unbalanced, sudsy, F1, F4... It can stop mid cycle and then run perfectly on another cycle five minutes later. It breaks about once a week and I have to reset it. I don't call a repairman anymore because I'm just wasting my money. Whirpool customer service is terrible. They do not stand by their product. DONOT BUY THIS WASHER!

By anonymous; - Apr 2, 2012

WHIRLPOOL CABRIO, NIGHTMARE PURCHASE

Puntos Fuertes: None, Not Durable.

Puntos Débiles: Wrinkles clothes and doesn't clean very well! Stop when it's changing cycle.

Purchased the Cabrio set 2006, I loved the way both W&D worked until a year after. The dreaded F1 starts flashing and beeping. Called Whirlpool and it would be weeks before repairman could arrive to take a look. They told me to clean machine with affleck tables, I did nothing, stay the same. I shoulded stay with my old machine. This one is a piece of junk, WHIRLPOOL CABRIO MACHINE NO GOOD.

Por Paloma2009 - Dec 17, 2009

Junk!! DO NOT BUY!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Washer is quiet

Puntos Débiles: Does not clean well, Puts clothes in tangled mess, Tears up bras, constant uneven load problems

Bought this washer/dryer set a couple years ago thinking we would get the front load results from a top loader. This machine tangles clothes in the worst kind of way. Everything ends up in a wad, so the clothes inside the wad do NOT get clean. You can also see the dirt on top of the item that 'swallowed' the rest of the items. My daughter and I are continually buying new bras because even on the gentle cycle, it seems to bend underwires to the point of no return. This is a mess of a washing machine. The dryer is also horrible. It wads up clothes so bad, you have to iron things that you shouldn't have to. The dryer is also VERY noisy. Even with our laundry room door shut, it is still loud and annoying. I do NOT recommend this washer and dryer to anyone. You will regret it. Wish I had the money to buy another. I would love to replace it!

Por dakhog - Jul 14, 2009

Don't do it!

Puntos Fuertes: Less H20, capacity.

Puntos Débiles: Computer

I bought the washer and dryer in January. I used to call on a Whirpool plant and warehouse here in TN and I was able to purchase through the employee purchase plan. It is August and it has broken down twice now. My sister-in-law bought one just prior , through Lowes, and has had her's repaired once as well. I knew I should have stopped the order when the person who bought it for me at Whirpool, after I placed the order, told me it was one of the highest repair/return product they have. How stupid of me! I thought I might be the lucky one. Wrong. I want to return it and get a whole other brand.

Por bna1msj - Aug 18, 2008

Do Not Purchase this washer

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: It doesn't get clothes clean but it does ruin them.

This is by far the worst washer I have ever used. It doesn't get clothes clean, the most fundamental job of a washer. On anything but the lowest spin speed, clothes come out a wrinkled mess and any delicate clothes will be stretched out of shape. The estimated time remaining bears no relationship to reality. Don't waste your time and money. It looks cool but it is fundamentally flawed.

Por dontbuycabrio - Jun 12, 2008

Buy this piece of Junk and you will be Sorry

Puntos Fuertes: Operates quietly, takes a very large load

Puntos Débiles: Doesn't clean clothes very well,tears and unravels clothes after only a few washings.Constantly unbalances then leaks.

This is without a doubt the worst machine I ever owned, and I advise people not to waste their money, it is a real lemon, I must replace it with something else as I can't be replacing clothes every six months, especially designer ones. It constantly goes off balance and you must stop the machine and start over,then I find it leaks and there is water all over the floor, so much for conserving energy. .I buy new clothes and after a few washings, I find they fade and start to look shabby as though they have been taken out and beaten on rocks.My advice is to stay away from Cabrio,they are very expensive , do a poor job and I hear they will need repairs constantly, I guess that is why the salesman talked me into buying a warrenty, telling me if the control panel goes it will cost me $500 or more to fix.

Por DorothySimons2008 - Jan 6, 2008

garbage..dont buy this washer or dryer

Had my washer 2 years..started making loud noise and leaking water everywhere. The repair on m y warranty ended up costing more than the value of machine. Lucky I had it through LOWES. They just advised me that they will pay me for my cost to go and buy another washer. But I still feel a washer should not fall apart after 2 years. It caused major water damage for me. DONT BUY THIS PRODUCT. ALSO MY CLOTHES NEVER SEEMED CLEAN...I HAD TO REWASH ALL THE TIME!!!! ALSO WHEN MY PROBLEM HAPPENED THE LOCKING TOP WOULD NOT OPEN!!!!! IT TOOK HOURS OF WAITING TO FINALLY OPEN...LOCK IS ALSO A PROBLEM
I MADE THIS INVESTMENT TO AVOID REPAIRS ...NOW I NEED TO FIND A GOOD WASHER AT GOOD PRICE...GOOD LUCK WITH THAT...MOSTLY KOREAN MADE..PART PROBLEMS WITH THAT...GE DOES NOT HAVE WASHERS OUT THERE...WHERE ARE THE US MADE WASHERS???

Por mbaumgar@msn.com_9477053874 - Aug 12, 2013

Whirlpool Cabrio WTW6400SW Washer

Puntos Fuertes: large drum

Puntos Débiles: clothes come out ruined

I have never been so displeased with any washer, and I've had many. My clothes come out wrinkled tied up in knots looking like pretzels, even small underwear. All my clothes are stretched, especially the bottoms of my tops. I have used every cycle available, and have even tried different temps of heat in the dryer, and nothing has salvaged my clothes. I truly hate this machine, and truthfully dread the days I have to wash clothes as I know it's another day of looking at wrinkled and stretched out clothes. The only article that has survived is sheets.I think the salesman at Best Buy encouraged me to buy this diaster only to help deplete their stock of these misfits. I won't buy anymore appliances from them ever,and I won't buy anything made by Whirlpool either.

By anonymous; - Jun 14, 2012

Cabrio should be pulled off the market!!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Fairly quiet

Puntos Débiles: Damages clothes,does't use enough water,goes off balance easily,tangles laundry, sets deep wrinkles in laundry

Beware of this machine.I have NEVER been so disappointed in a washer as this one.I have been doing laundry for 42 yrs! This washer has damaged more clothes in 2 years than I have in my entire 60 years of life!This so called washer should be pulled off the market,its a real LEMON!! This monster has chewed up clothes,stretched long sleeve shirts,put perm.wrinkles in bedding that I cannot get out..(.brad new first time washed!!! )Just know that goal isnt to bash any product that works well but to help you realize the bad products Beware Beware Beware...

Por badproductsmakemepuke - May 20, 2012

Cabrio should be pulled off the market!!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Fairly quiet

Puntos Débiles: Stretches clothes out of shape,unbalances easily,not enough water to wash properly,doesn't drain well,leaves my laundry smelling terrible,and makes wrinkles that I cannot remove!!

Beware of this machine.I have NEVER been so disappointed in a washer as this one.I have been doing laundry for 42 yrs! This washer has damaged more clothes in 2 years than I have in my entire 60 years of life!This so called washer should be pulled off the market,its a real LEMON!! Thismonster has chewed up clothes,stretched long sleeve shirts,put perm.wrinkles in bedding that I cannot get out..(.brad new first time washed!!! )Just know that goal isnt to bash any product that doesn't deserve it,but to help people to not purchase a bad product,and this machine is a bad machine!!!!DONOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!BEWARE...

By anonymous; - May 20, 2012

love and hate it

Puntos Fuertes: huge capacity

Puntos Débiles: haveing problems

i have had mine for over 3 years and just now started having problems... the motor blew so i need to find a cheap one... its very quiet so i dont know why yours is loud... you cant even hear mine on. but does any one know where to buy a cheap motor....

By anonymous; - Apr 26, 2012

cabrio washer

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Wrinkeles & twist clothes really bad, spot treatment doesn't work at all. Not enough water to do much of anything. 1/3 is a large load.. 60Plus for a quick load. Does not get clothes clean

Totally inappropriate for well water, can't amagine any water would make it any better. Would not recommend this washer for anyone that has men that work in shops or live in country.Lint ins't removed during the rinse cycle either. Horrible machine. Father in las boughtwithout my help, wish I could return it!!!

By anonymous; - Apr 23, 2012

WARNING -- DO NOT BUY IT IS WASTE OF MONEY

Puntos Fuertes: LOOKS ARE GOOD

Puntos Débiles: IT WILL WORK FIRST WEEK OR MONTH THEN IT WILL MAKE BIG ROARING SOUND AND WILL SHUT DOWN.

I BOUGHT THE CABRIO 2 MONTH AGO .THE WASHER INITIALLY MADE SOUND LIKE A PLANE IS LANDING. THEN ALL LIGHTS START BLINKING. tHE MACHINE'S LID LOCKS ITSELF SO YOU ARE STUCK WITH A MACHINE WITH DIRTY CLOTHS.THE COMPUTER PANEL IS IN BACK ORDER SO I HAVE TO WAIT.KEEP WASHING IN LONDROMAT.

Por sumana12 - Sep 27, 2010

TEARS & KNOTS YOUR CLOTHES!!

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: Tears and Knots clothes

Clothes will be TORN,KNOTTED, and STRETCHED OUT. VERY UNFORTUNATE PURCHASE. DO NOT BUY! Unless you wash everything on GENTLE, which does not clean deoderant off shirts.... your clothes, towells, etc. will be ruined!

Por jmarty2010 - May 10, 2010

Horrible waste of money

Puntos Fuertes: Huge capacity

Puntos Débiles: LOUD. Leaks

I hate this washer. At 13 months we had to have a $150 repair. Now at 24 months and this thing is so LOUD we can't even run it while our baby is sleeping. It's just recently leaked a couple of times as well. Don't waste your money, seriously.

Por juasmith - Dec 30, 2009

Read reviews from owners past the 12 month mark

Puntos Fuertes: large loads

Puntos Débiles: breaks down between 12 - 24 months old

Bought this washer from Sears, but posting reviews wherever I can so others don't experience the mess! I did buy the extended warranty which appears to be saving me between $400 - 800 dollars! If you buy this washer, please spring for the extended warranty past 3 years.

Some of the dislikes are similar to others on here: the wrinkles from ANY spin cycle are deep which means they do not come out in the dryer, even after shaking out each article prior to tossing in the dryer. Some items are torn up (loose threads on anything will mostly likely result in a ruined article, including towels).

The worst part is that I have, what I now know is common, an F 50 error code followed by an Sd error code! Been trying for 45 min to get the same 8 min left on the cycle to just drain! The repair guy is coming on Saturday but I dont see a one visit repair in my future! Just be aware that these problems (based on today's research) seem to be frequent occurences for the washer at 12 - 24 months old.

Por brnidgrl0912 - Aug 6, 2009

So Disappointed!!

Puntos Fuertes: Size and ease of use

Puntos Débiles: Durability

I am so disappointed in this product!! We had a fire in our house 2 1/2 years ago and lost our previous machine, which was 7 years old and working great. We received insurance $$ to purchase new appliances and were excited to choose a new W/D set and looked at many different options. I now wish we would have bought the LG set at Best Buy. Unfortunately, we spent almost $800 on this piece of crap at Sears. It now is displaying the dreaded F50 error code and when I called to check on repairs, I was informed that it would cost at least $450 to repair!! That is totally unacceptable! Whirlpool needs to wake up and realize that they are selling people junk and take this thing off the market!!

Por bethmcd79 - Jul 17, 2009

Do Not Buy, Poor Design

Puntos Fuertes: Makes your laundry room look like a UFO Hangar

Puntos Débiles: Coins destroy the washer

Owned for less than a year. One day washer dumps entire load of water on our second floor laundry room floor. Repairmen comes out, dumps about $5 in coins out from the water pump removed from the bottom of the unit. $300 repair.

Apparently the Cabrio designers have never actually used a washer in real life, where coins occassionally get left in pockets. So the Cabrio sucks up coins out of the wash bin, they lodge in the water pump, and eventually they break a hole in the $300 pump and soak your home.

Owned washers for 20 years and never had to think about coins. With the Cabrio, I now get to spend my time carefully going through every pocket in the wash so the shiny $900 devil doesn't destroy my home and cost me another $300 washer repair. Great job Whirlpool, thanks for making laundry stressful.

Por joeycarbona - Jul 7, 2009

Don't waste your money

Puntos Fuertes: It ran almost a year

Puntos Débiles: Can't seem to get the parts in a reasonable amount of time.

BEWARE!!!!! When you spend $800.00 for a washer, you would expect above average performance. Mine crapped out 5/14/08, they finally received the part and spent an hour or two replacing the old one. Still doesn't work, have to order another part, if it takes six weeks to get this one, I will have been without it for three months. Sadly, there is no recourse for the consumer, can't go buy another one.
Live and learn.

Por ssj944 - Jun 23, 2008

Don't waste your money!!

I have owned this machine for 2 years now and have found that it does not do a good job of cleaning. I have stopped it mid cycle to check it's progress and found that the water doesn't even cover the clothes! I specificly picked this machine because it is supposed to be able to handle a king size comforter. The comforter fits in the machine but does not come out clean, had I realized that in time I would have for sure returned it!!

Por dathomas1960@yahoo.com_5655251 - Aug 7, 2013

Worst washer ever

I've owned this machine for two years. During that time it has shredded my clothes and towels. The machine must be perfectly balanced in order to run the spin cycle so I am frequently finding my load still needing to go through the spin cycle. Now, today, it has quit all together. Previously I had a front loader that lasted for 7 years and did a fabulous job washing, it just didn't last as long as it should have because the manufacturer designed the spider (holds onto and spins the tub) was made out of aluminum and the tub was made out of stainless steel. By building the machine this way they could accurately estimate when the machine would crap out since putting those two materials (steel and aluminum) together causes the aluminum to rust and deteriorate. Built to be quickly replaced.

Por lylajens - Jun 30, 2013

F1 error message

Puntos Fuertes: quiet, less water consumption, cosmetics

Puntos Débiles: reliability, unbalance, large bulky load handling

I bought the first Cabrio on Oct. 2006, returned it immediately due to water filling error, then got the replacement on Nov. 2006. Intermittently error code F1 occurred along with unbalanced load error. Now the F1 error stayed on constantly and the factory warranty just expired. I called the service estimate and it was about $300.00 plus. I trusted Whirlpool products, but this Cabrio, it's a piece of junky but good looking hi-tech.

Por saigonslim - Jun 30, 2008

JET-ENGINE LOUD, OR $500 ANNUAL REPAIR!

Puntos Fuertes: Large Tub

Puntos Débiles: NOT Durable - doesn't last (I think they put the same bearing on a larger tub, that spins faster, holds more weight -- and that's a recipe for breakdown.)

I am so disgusted with this Washer. I convinced my wife that it was a high-quality machine, given Whirlpool's reputation.

Was I Misled. After only 6 months, it began getting loud, and after 1 year, it turned into an engine roar.

We called the repairman, and sure enough, >$400 repair for a main bearing and tub. I asked the repairman - is this something I'll need to replace every year? His answer, well, you don't have to replace it just because it gets loud.

So that's the NEW Whirlpool. Jet-Engine Loud or $500 annual repair.

Por mcgofwisconsin - Jul 30, 2009

I need a class action law suite!!!

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: EVERYTHING

5 repairs in 3 years spending more time and money at the laundry mat...draging wet clothes. It's been the malfunctioning hoses...the weight bearings..imbalanced basin and now the entire control panals...totaling more in repair than the price of this JUNK machine.. To make matters worse when you call for repair you talk to someone in India.

Por amc626 - Jan 11, 2010

Minus One -1

Puntos Fuertes: none

Puntos Débiles: All

This washer was a disappointment from the get-go. It tangles clothes, leaves some areas of clothes unwashed and dry - that was bad enough then the errors started happening. We have replaced the drum and computer board and now we are gettign the F1 error code. This washer is not worth even thinking about buying. Do not buy any Whirlpool products to help the victims teach them a lesson. Americans want quality!!!

Por funtechy - Nov 5, 2010

Jet Engine Cleaning

Puntos Fuertes: Tub size and ease of loading from the top. Good selection of options for bulk, sheets, quick wash, etc.

Puntos Débiles: After 3 years it sounds like a jet engine - the neighbors can hear it from the street, the dog is afraid to go near it, and we are losing our hearing. Cost to repair and make quiet - nearly $600.

After 2 years it started getting louder and louder. When I paid a Whirlpool certified technician $59 to come to the house and repair it - he said 'Whirlpool needs to make this right - the parts are going to cost you more than $500" When I called Whirlpool, they offered me $50 off their parts; total repair cost with labor was still more than $500. All energy savings we hoped to gain when buying this $900 washing machine is gone down the drain. Our last Whirlpool washer lasted over 10 years and cost half as much - the Cabrio is a joke. Whirlpool's attitude is a joke too. I would rather not buy LG or Samsung - but where else to turn. I would never spend more than $600 for a washing machine again (like spending $20 for a light bulb that breaks ...) I would like to consult an attorney regarding product safety considering the potential for hearing loss just using this product. (It does still work - just incredibly LOUD).

Por TomBoosXyz2010 - Dec 4, 2010

Great While It Lasted...

Puntos Fuertes: Large capacity, easy to operate controls

Puntos Débiles: Larger than most conventionals, expensive to repair, worrisome first-time reliability

We saw the Cabrio washer/dryer demo pair at Sears and were so impressed we placed an order immediately. Due to it being new and not in stock in the warehouse, we had to wait 2-1/2 weeks for delivery. That should have been our first signal to cut our losses and run, because I never buy the first year model of ANYTHING--there's just too much chance for problem.

We received our Cabrios, and were in heaven--for all of 6 days. We enjoyed almost a week of high capacity washing and drying. The washer did a great job of cleaning, and the dryer was a joy to unload--the slanted angle of the opening put clothes at your fingertips. The electronic controls were simple to use--for most loads, it was push the power button, turn the knob to colors, and hit start.

But, 6 days later, in the middle of a load, the machine suddenly stopped and the computer froze up. The display just sat there blinking all of the LEDs on and off, and no button press did anything. I unplugged the unit and replugged it in to reset it, and received no response at all--the machine was dead. No LEDs, no keys worked, no beeps, nothing. What's worse, because of the Cabrio's lid lock system, I couldn't even lift the lid to get my half-washed clothes out.

So we call the Sears repair center, and the next day a repairman arrives at our house. This machine is so new, there's not even a repair history on it to help him troubleshoot. After half an hour on the phone with tech support, he checks the computer module and tells me what I suspected all along--the computer is dead and needs replacement. However, I almost had to be pulled off the floor when he told me that the parts alone (computer and keypad assembly) were over $500. At that point, I had to decide to go without a washer for 2 weeks while the part was being ordered, or return the washer for a replacement. I obviously went for the latter.

Several things the mechanic said bear noting here. First of all, he is obviously a Whirlpool/Kenmore conventional washer/dryer fan (Series 70, 80, etc.). But that means a lot when it comes from a repairman, who has to work on these appliances every day. He said the Kenmores hardly ever need repair, because they're so reliable, and when they do, they are not usually very expensive. Plus, he has parts for the Kenmores right on the truck. He makes a lot of sense, so much that I actually returned both the Cabrios for a Kenmore washer/dryer pair instead.

Several things about the Cabrios concern me. First of all, they were larger than the conventional pair they replaced, not much, but enough for us to have to specifically sit them off-center in the closet to be able to open the dryer door and closet door at the same time.

Secondly, I would avoid any machine that is new like the plague. But what I didn't know is that Whirlpool already appears to have a class-action lawsuit in place against the earlier version of the Cabrios--the Calypso.

Thirdly, I would never buy new "non-conventional" washer/dryer anymore. With a conventional pair, even I could do much of the repair work. I'm not much of a handyman, but with our old Hotpoints, I changed the belts, the thermostats, and the agitatior coupling. These newer units are almost like foreign cars--you have to get a specialized repairman to perform the simplest of repairs.

Lastly, I would never buy an appliance that has parts that cost more to replace than the appliance originially cost. On both the Cabrio washer and dryer, if the computer gets fried, it costs over $500 just for parts. On our old Hotpoints, there wasn't a part in it that was over $100. And the computer could get fried for something as simple as a lightning strike or power surge. You expect VCRs and small microwave ovens to be "throw away" appliances, where the repair costs more than just buying a new one. But you certainly don't expect a $700 washer to be a "throw away" appliance.

Perhaps I just got a bad unit. Perhaps these units would have lasted 20 years had I gotten a good one. But with the excellent track record of conventional washers/dryers, and the great repairability of them, I'm just not willing to take the chance again.

Por dbsalerno - Sep 18, 2006

Beware of Cabrio Washing machine

Puntos Fuertes: Large Capacity, Cleans clothes ok

Puntos Débiles: Does not last, Whirlpool does not back their products, Horrible support by Whirlpool

Purchased Cabrio Washing machine and Dryer 2yrs ago. After about 4-6 months, it got very loud and went off balance more often - at least once a week. Turns out that it wore a pin hole in the bottom of the tub. Water end up dripping into the motor underneath the tub. Water damaged the bearings causing it go be very loud and goes off balance very easily. Like everybody else, estimate was for $580 in repairs for Tub and Bearings (including labor)

Por jweb_dev - May 17, 2011

Confirm reviews

Puntos Fuertes: Capacity

Puntos Débiles: Does not clean, tangles and wrinkles clothes

My husband insisted he did the research and Cabrios would best suit the needs of our family of 5. Loads have to be retreated and rerun with the simplist of soiling. You can run large loads, but do not expect the items to be clean and prepare to fight the tangle. The dryer is satisfactory with light loads and is easier to unload than a dryer with a conventional door, but clothes do tend to have more wrinkles. I have been careful to not overload the washer tub, and use the correct detergent.I have tried to compensate by using a different cycle from the fabric load and there was no difference. Considering the price, these appliances have left my family dissappointed in Whirlpool. I am thankful that we have not experienced the computer problems so many have reported. I have not enjoyed the energy/water savings due to having to rerun most loads.
These machines have not allowed me to decrease the amount of time it requires to do laundry for a family of 5. We will not repurchase these products and will most likely replace them in then near future, avoiding Whirlpool.

Por ZooCrewMom - Dec 11, 2009

Biggest hunk of junk

Puntos Fuertes: Have not found any

Puntos Débiles: If you put more than one towel at a time it becomes unbalanced and you can spend your entire day trying to balance the load so it finishes the cycle!

I have never been so frustrated with any appliance! I bought it due to its extra large capacity but that feature is entirely useless because it gets unbalanced the moment you put in anything that is heavy when wet, like towels and jeans. Even when you try rebalancing the load it keeps beeping at you again after a minute!!! Even when it does its job I find the clothes do not come out smelling fresh as was my experience with other regular top loaders. I will never buy another Whirlpool after this experience!

Por Nevercursedsomuch - May 25, 2011

DO NOT BUY!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Efficiency

Puntos Débiles: Reliability, wrinkled clothing, dead after less than 2 years of use

We had the Whirlpool Duets for 5 years and when moving into a new home we decided to upgrade and go back to a top loading washing machine. Just under 2 years and we have had several service calls and now it is completely dead. the main board has failed, and it is nearly $500 to repair. WHAT A PIECE OF JUNK.

Por ar00346 - Jan 17, 2009

WOULD GIVE ANYTHING TO GET RID OF IT

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: SHEETS AND CLOTHES OUT ONE BIG BIG BALL WRINKLED.

WOULD NOT BUY ANOTHER WHIRPOOL WASHER BECAUASE OF THE EXPERIENCE WITH THIS MACHINE. CANOT AFFORD TO PURCHASE ANOTHER MACHINE. IF WE HAD READ THE REVIEWS ON THE INTERNET AND NOT LISTENED TO SALE PERDON IT WOULD HAVE SAVED US LOTS GRIEF.

Por ROBENNETT807 - Apr 22, 2011

cabrio washer

Puntos Fuertes: large capacity

Puntos Débiles: Everything else.

Washer is a piece of junk. Problems early on and getting worse. Constantly out of balance. Have to remove clothes 3 to 6 times per load due to unbalanced load. Then restart. Very inconvienient. Clothes not clean. Tangled clothes. Tore up several blouses. Do not buy this machine.

Por macec3 - Jul 12, 2011

Cabrio problems

Puntos Fuertes: Always has been great...til now, and it's only 3 years old...

Puntos Débiles: have to stand and keep pushing the buttons...and now it's pushing mine!!!

My 3 yr old Whirlpool Cabrio...when I push to start, the lid locks...the machine starts, about 30 seconds...a beeper goes off...the lights flash, I push the pause button then the start button, lid locks, then...does the same thing, after the third time of the same thing...it goes....until it has 21 minutes left...then it does the same thing and I go through he same routine...

Por florida2vegas - Jan 23, 2010

Cabrio Wash is a Piece of Junk!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Big tub

Puntos Débiles: Everything!

This washer started giving me a U9 error every time I washed towels or sheet within the first 2 weeks of purchase. I kept thinking I was doing something wrong but realized after water started leaking on the floor that the design was defective. Then it start roaring and spinning out of control. We have replaced on part at $178 and now they want us to replace the bearing/drum @ 216. I think they have intentionally designed the machine so that parts are connect so they can charge more -- it is a racket! I have lost all respect for Whirlpool products. If you have any stock sell it!!

Por rrsmith - Dec 16, 2009

HORRIBLE MACHINE...TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE - WASTE OF $$

Puntos Fuertes: LOOKS

Puntos Débiles: LEAKS, EXTREMELY LOUD, UNBALANCES EASILY

I bought the Cabrio in Sept 2007 for $870. starting getting noisy about 1 yr after purchase, 2 yrs after purchase it started leaking all over during the spin cycle & it was so noisy ~ I wasn't able to have a conversation anywhere near the laundry room even with the door shut. Took machine to business in which I purchased it at to have it looked at. They ordered 3 parts for the machine & said it would cost over $500..thankfully I bought the extended warranty, but they wouldn't guarantee that that would fix the noise problem. One of the parts, which is the outer tub, has been on backorder for over a week & once they get them in, it will take another 7 days to get it delivered to the store(apparently they refuse to use overnight or even 2 day delivery service). And then of course the time to get it actually fixed. I will be without a washing machine for about a month by the time I get it back. I've called Whirlpool who doesn't seem to care, and they passed me on to the warranty dept, who then told me that they don't handle the extended warranty part(the one gal ask..how many times have you had your washer serviced? I told her this is the first time...and she was like oh, no big deal then - but for me its one to many times for a 2 yr old $870 washer!!! then she told me to contact the ext. warranty dept, in which they proceeded to tell me that there was nothing they could do but have it fixed...and wouldn't approve for a new washer until the service dept had given it a "unrepairable" marking. The business in which I purchased this from tried to do everything they could to have my washer replaced but Whirlpool wouldn't budge. I have contacted an attorney as with this many issues with so many machines, something needs to be done. These machines should not be on the market...they are junk, don't waste your money!!

Por CARR4 - Dec 2, 2009

THE WORST MACHINE EVER

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: LEAKING WATER ,MAKES LOUD NOISE ON SPIN CYCLE NOT WORT THE MONEY ,ITS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD

I CALLED REPAIR, THEY SET ME UP TWO DAYS LATER TO CALL 2 HOURS BEFORE THEY WERE TO ARRIVE.I GOT A 15 MIN WARNING TO TELL ME TO BE READY TO PAY 50 DOLLAR TRIP CHARGE AN 80 DOLLAR AN HR LABOR WITH AT LEAST 275.00 OR MORE FOR PARTS THAT HE HAD ON TRUCK.I ASK HOW HE KNEW WHAT PART I NEEDED HE REPLYED THAT IS WHAT THEY ALL NEED.I REPLYED THAT YOU ALL KNOW THEN THAT YOU SOLD APOORLY MADE MACHINE,AND YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED,TO SCREW THE UNKNOWING PUBLIC.THIS IS A TERRIBLE MACHINE,AND THEY SHOULD STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT.DONT BUY

Por Uhappy3348 - Oct 17, 2010

DO NOT BUY!!!

Puntos Fuertes: THIS WASHER WORKS FINE FOR THE FEW 8 MONTHS.

Puntos Débiles: THE CENTRAL TUB IS NOT SECURED HENCE THE WASHER'S VIOLENT BANGING ACTION BEFORE IT CONSISTENTLY PREMATURELY STOPS TAKE MANY TRIPS TO HAVE THE SPIN CYCLE COMPLETE.

AS IF A JACK HAMMER WAS BEING USED TO DEMOLISH THE HOUSE, GIVEN THE VERY LOUD VIOLENT BANGING THAT THE WASHER MADES BEFORE IT SHUTSDOWN WITH A 'UL' WARNING.

Por nikhanEVERYTHING - Aug 23, 2010

Cabrio, understanding the product.

Puntos Fuertes: High Efficiency, Second Pump replaces diverter valve which would fail in the original Fisher and Paykel design, NO TRANNY! Warranty honored by more than just Sears.

Puntos Débiles: All electronic, more for suburbanites who don't really get dirty. It still cleans, but it might take a bit more to clean a farmer's manure encrusted clothes.

I have torn every part out of this machine.
---
It is half Fisher & Paykel, the other half is American.
---
The washing operation is like F&P, NOT CALYPSO. Calypso had a mechanical bottom that tossed the clothes, this uses a floating ring that lifts the tub off the coupler and the circulation of the water by an impeller causes agitation. The previous poster thinks this has something to do with calypso, this is false.
---
There are many variations of this machine, mostly asthetic. This design has been in the states as a Fisher & Paykel for a number of years. Any Sears guy saying they don't have the parts is lying, Sears calls thier relabeled generic copy Oasis. I must also advice avoid Kenmore altogether, it is a generic name like any other generic name, bottom end of the line relabeled for thier sale.
---
USE HE detergent, there are sensors that will not work right without it. Amway and Quixtar are not HE (if you disagree about this, ask Amway why they lack the label). Low sudsing is not HE. High Efficiency detergent meets a set of standards that both appliance manufacturers and soap manufacturers agreed upon. All soaps meeting these standards have an HE logo.
---
This is not commercial or heavy duty. The average consumer doesn't need commercial and you will not find them at a local appliance dealer. A true commercial appliance will not be anywhere close to the price of a machine on a showroom floor. Also, as with all electronic controlled appliances, unplug it during a lightning storm.
---
If you are leary of something new, the classic Whirlpool Direct Drive will be available until 2011. Then efficiency laws will force it out.

Por xanthprime - Nov 13, 2006

The Whirlpool Cabrio is GREAT!!

Puntos Fuertes: More laundry washed in less time, and smells very clean!

Puntos Débiles: Not stackable to save space!

I love my new Cabrio, and have really enjoyed being able to wash more clothes at once, and it has saved me lots of time. I have had it for a couple of weeks, and already seeing a difference. We are a family of 5, and work full-time, but now have time to spare. My boys & I are glad we can get it all done in one evening, rather than 3 evenings of doing laundry. The Cabrio is so quiet, and doesn't shake our house, so I am able to wash clothes while I sleep if I wish.

Por nataliesmith - Sep 6, 2006

Worse than garbage.

Puntos Fuertes: A-HA! HA! HA! HA! Too funny.

Puntos Débiles: You have to pay $10.00 to have a $700 piece of trash taken out of your home.

I purchased this model approximately three and a half years ago. I was very skeptical of all the lights, buttons and so forth. However, it looked cool and my wife wanted one. Prior to that, we always had the traditional agitator-style washing machines. Right from the outset I questioned how well the clothes were being cleaned. It appeared as though the clothes weren't coming out as clean as they should. However, there were so many cool lights and cool sounds that thing made, it had to be great! It's a $700 washing machine. It had to be great. Three years later, I've had the entire drum and bearings replaced just eight weeks ago. That was under warranty. A few weeks ago, it kept reading "UL" (Uneven Load) regardless if you put towels in there or a few t-shirts. From there, it started making a cracking sound during the spin cycle. Two days ago, water began to pour from the bottom of the unit. They told me it was the pump. I looked that up and that's apparently the case. The part is another $109 dollars and with the service it will be $220.00. I'm am not a mechanically inclined person but figured I could at least look under it and see if anything looked obvious - maybe a hose was loose or something. I never expected this; the entire underside of the machine was covered in rust. I couldn't believe it. My laundry room is bone dry and we've never had a flood. It was unbelievable. I have literally thrown in the towel with Whirlpool. I just purchased another (non-Whirlpool) machine today and will NEVER PURCHASE A WHIRLPOOL PRODUCT AGAIN!

Por SteelCity2011 - Oct 21, 2011

Do not recommend

Puntos Fuertes: none

Puntos Débiles: several

Please do not purchase this machine. I have to run another drain/spin cycle every 3-4 loads as it does not spin out all of the water. It twists clothes terribly and leaves soap residue on thin clothing. I have had the machine 3 months and had to have Sears technician come out today and he advised he has to order another control board which will take 3 weeks, meaning I will have to now go to the laundry mat weekly until then. Very very disappointed. Whirlpool used to be so dependable!!!

Por kmb70 - Jan 7, 2011

Quick sell it while you can!

Puntos Fuertes: Looks cool

Puntos Débiles: Expensive initial cost, insanly expensive parts and doesn't cleen very well!

What was I thinking?? I own a HVAC service company. I work on highly technical equipment all the time. So I can repair this machine if I have to. But, I don't want to! Isn't that why I bought a new one to begin with? I will admit it was a bit of an impulse by. Now that I am experiencing problems with the machine I can clearly see what a bad purchase it was. There is no reason for all of the elaborate electronics in a washing machine! Well other than all of the money they will make on selling parts. Think about it. To have to pay half of the cost of the machine for an additional 3 year warranty is crazy. the worst part is the cost of the warranty is probably worth it! If the control board goes, I'm told it is $500! My old machine lasted 15 years and I never had to fix it. If I had to pay myself to fix this thing it wouldn't be worth it. Like someone else said it is a $700+ disposable machine. I'm going to sell mine for what I can and cut my losses. After all the "coolness" of it was gone the first time it froze up and I had to work on it!

Por csillick - Oct 8, 2007

Not Worth The Money

Puntos Fuertes: Looks nice and fits a lot of clothes in it!

Puntos Débiles: Leaves tons of dry spots on clothes and doesn't wash areas.

I have only had this washer for two weeks and I already hate it. We are renting ours from Rent-A-Center but it will be going back. It does not wash all the clothes, leaves areas of clothes dry. Even after two washes the clothes are not clean. I will def. be returning this to rent a center.

Por ehoward25 - Apr 13, 2011

don't buy unless you are tall and strong!!

Puntos Fuertes: big loads

Puntos Débiles: tangles everything horribly, shreds any weaker seams on items, wrinkles are so set in I have to iron t-shirts to make presentable.

I HATE this machine!!! It shredded all my bedspreads that were quilts. It tangles the sheets into big knots even on the sheet setting. I end up washing everything on the delicate cycle which doesn't really get things as clean as i like. Right now I am trying to wash a bedspread on regular cycle and it has unbalanced 3 times. It ends up in a big rolled up ball on one side of the drum. I am 60 yrs old and 5 foot tall - (I can't really reach the bottom of the tub) how am I supposed to pull up this sogging mess and untangle it????? I have no choice and now my back is killing me. you should absolutely not buy this machine - particularly if you are under 5'5 and over 50 years old. it should have an ADA warning!!!!

Por griffido - Apr 9, 2011

cabrio top loader

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Didn't clean well, put pulls in clothes, spend a few extra minutes untangling the clothes because they get all twisted and wrapped around each other. Wrinkles like I've never seen. A horror.

I purchased this washer on the recommendation of the salesperson, who I had dealt with in the past. It was absolutely the worst washing machine and I hated it. I tried to like it, but just couldn't find anything good about it. Finally called the salesman after a month and told him how disappointed I was with it and why. He knew I was a good customer, so agreed to take it back. I bought a Whirlpool 9600 series, which was even more expensive, but I absolutely LOVE it. DO NOT BUY A CABRIO TOP LOADER.

Por tylerpuppy - Jan 17, 2008

Hate this machine

Puntos Fuertes: It is quiet.

Puntos Débiles: Doesn't let you wash "3 loads" of laundry as ads claim.

Owner's manual states to fill dirty items to the top of the stainless steel bin...but if you do that, the machine will constantly stop and say the load is too full. I fill the machine half way and I still get the error code at least 10 times before it will finally finish the load. If the machine sits for several days without being used, I'll spend at least 4 to 5 hours trying to wash one small load to get it "readjusted" to working again. I bought this machine approximately a year ago because I had a 3 year old, a 6 month old and found out I was pregnant again and needed a bigger machine. I wish I would of just kept my old machine that actually worked. I also bought the large dryer that goes with this one. It is horrible too. The dryer is huge, but the "arms" or "paddles" inside the machine aren't big enough to separate the clothes while they're being tumbled. So clothes just stick to the outside of the machine and don't get dry. My husband hates the machines and says we're selling them in our next garage sale.

Por jwhutson - Aug 6, 2008

Just bought this sorry Cabrio 6300 in March 2010: Clothes smell, twist, unbalanced!

Puntos Fuertes: Aesthetically beautiful, functionally, just awful!

Puntos Débiles: Simply not enough water, low temp, clothes "ball" & twist, constant unbalanced loads, clothes smell dirty. I long for my 25-yr. old kenmore 80 Series that just wore out! Will buy a conventional washer

I'll never buy an HE again unless they stop making "conventionals" and then I'll weep! Just in case, will buy a used one as a spare! Hate these HE's!

Por Lexie1025 - Mar 12, 2010

NO, NO, NO, It's a nightmare!

Puntos Fuertes: looks good, pretty combo

Puntos Débiles: Damages clothes, takes forever to do a load of laundry

I have a house full of kids and dirty laundry. I have had this Cabrio set for about 1 1/2 yrs. I takes 53 minutes to wash a load of laundry. With 4 kids I don't have that kind of time. I am used to doing laundry 2 days a week and be done, now I have laundry stacked up and I wash every day! If a load of whites are washed and then a load of colors afterward, the colored clothes are ruined with bleach from the previous load. Strings are being pulled in the clothes, my towels all look like they are old and shredded, when in fact they are only washed one or two times. The washer and dryer are already rusting on the outside. There is no such thing as doing a quick load at all. I bought the Cabrio set at lowe's, paid cash. What a mistake! I paid $75.00 for a set at a yard sale and it lasted me 7 yrs, this is the first time I ever bought a brand new set-I am 59 yrs old and going out to buy a used washer so I can catch my laundry up. The belt on the dryer is screeching so loud that I am afraid the neighbors will complain. Plain and simple I HATE MY NEW WASHER AND DRYER!!!!

Por busyfostermom - Mar 17, 2009

Cabrio WTW6600SW Best washer I've used

Puntos Fuertes: Uses a lot less water. Large capacity, quiet, no vibration, cleans well, easy to load, see through lid, minutes left display, can wash throw rugs, blankets, bulky items easily.

Puntos Débiles: Sheets setting should be labeled Towels/Sheets, lid gets spotted with condensation quickly, hitting cancel accidentally after pausing will empty washer, wasting detergent

We switched from having using heavy duty Maytag top loaders for 25 years; Cabrio has freed our family from having to constantly attend to the washing and dryer. The dryer is always done before the washer, and the batch size is big enough to presort towels large towels vs. small towels and turn over the batches quickly.

Wash smells and feels much cleaner. Texture of fabric is much improved, and feels much softer on the skin. No adverse reaction to HE detergent (use extra rinse).

Finally can wash pillows and blankets often due to large basket with no central shaft.

Controls: Love the minutes left display, but the pause button should be positioned away from the start button. After pausing, it is very easy to hit the pause button again instead of the start button. This will empty the wash tub and you kiss your HE detergent goodbye. Start over again.....:(

Instructions call for towels to utilize the "Sheets" setting, due to special rotational action that keeps towels from balling up. I verified this by observing the wash action through the see through cover. The setting should read "Towels/Sheets" instead.

The bulky items setting is very effective on blankets and pillows. Washed throw rugs; came out unbelievably clean and fluffy; a true revelation.

The see through lid get spotted very quickly with condensation. Instructions do not address this; the proper cleaning agent needs to be specified. Before long the residue will totally obscure the glass. I have submitted a report to Whirlpool recently and am awaiting a reply.

Overall satisfaction is great. The whole family likes the Cabrio. If we get behind in the wash, it is easy to catch up with a minimum of hassle. The extra cost is worth it, if only because of the reduction in family hassle over laundry issues.

Wish list: a simple economical way to use bulk detergent that can be dispensed automatically. Pouring detergent is still risky; spills and splatters can be bad news on the eyes and skin. Bulk pack detergent would be cheaper.

Very low vibration, even when spinning a 1000 rpm Motor does make some strange noises when pursuing complex lift/rotation shifting; there is a lot of mechanical action and programmed control over the functions and mechanical action. Best Buy has a combo washer/dryer warranty that is very reasonable. ($200 for 5 years or about 11% of the purchase price of a washer/dryer combo or avg about 2% per year.

With the electronic controls and complex mechanical action it will be interesting to see how things will work out.




Por captdad1 - Dec 4, 2006

Whirlpool Cabrio Class Action Law Suite

Puntos Fuertes: Looks good

Puntos Débiles: Doesn't work

Whirlpool Cabrio Class Action Law Suite

www.poolesville.biz/...

I bought a Whirlpool Cabrio December 2006 from Lowe's. The machine worked for about 9 months and I haven't been able to use my washing machine since October 2007. Every part in the machine has basically been replaced at least once if not twice. Whirlpool has a problem ...and they refuse to fix the problem. They will send a factory repairman and he doesn't do anything. He claims that he fixed it by having the computer simulate an actual wash cycle. It is never fixed; when your warranty expires...that's it. The repairman told me there is nothing more that can be done and Whirlpool claims that it has been fixed. Basically.. Whirlpool never has to fix the problem. The warranty does not stop tickin just because the machine doesn't work. They send the repairman out and he orders a part and then you get another appointment and after they do this several more times your're stuck with a washing machine that still doesn't work without a warranty. Lowes is also worthless... they just spin you off.

Update 02/18/2008 : I purchased a Lowes Extended Warranty several months back...The Lowes repairman informed me that he can't work on the washing machine under the Lowes Extended Warranty because this problem is the same problem that was never fixed under the Whirlpool 1 year warranty. He is also the same repairman that Whirlpool sent out. He condemned the machine then and Whirlpool says it was fixed. I don't know how they can continue to sell these machines? If this was just an isolated lemon I'm sure they would just replace it...But I'm beginning to suspect they are facing a massive recall and/or a class action law suite. The Whirlpool Customer Service is a nightmare...they threaten my wife; saying ,next time it might cost her $500 when they find something that's not under warranty. I suppose that would be classified as rust or something? I wonder if they forgot to paint some part of the machine?

Por rwilber4 - Feb 17, 2008

Very Expensive to Repair

Puntos Fuertes: Very unique

Puntos Débiles: Repair cost

After three years our machine leaks, and to repair requires a Tub, Stator, and Rotor costing $563.06 for the parts. This figure does not include labor. Fortunately, Whirlpool gave some discount, but I had to fight tooth and nail for it. This was not the first Cabrio our repairman had seen with this problem. You might want to give thought to the future before investing in this unique machine.

Por Molly67 - Feb 23, 2010

Manufacturer will not stand behind their product

Puntos Fuertes: LARGE CAPACITY

Puntos Débiles: FALLS APART

"I purchased my Cabrio washer 1/4/2007 about a month ago I started getting an F-1 error when I start my washer, in researching the internet it appears that the F-1 error code is common on this washing machine, and also found that this was a recall item with these washing machines. When I called the customer support department at Whirlpool regarding the problem, the person who was helping me was extremely rude she advised that yes this is a problem with the washing machines but mine was not part of the recall. When I asked why, she could not give me an answer other then the serial/model number on my washing machine was not listed on the recall. Even though the recall was for the same exact problem I was having. I am extremely unhappy with my washer, whirlpool and the customer service department. I would NOT purchase this washer as it is probably break down in 3 years or less and the manufacturer will not stand behind their product"

Por Tgrimando - Oct 20, 2009

WHIRLPOOL WILL NOT STAND BY THE CABRIO...WATCH OUT!!

Puntos Fuertes: Washes lots of clothes

Puntos Débiles: INNER AND OUTER TUB STICK TOGETHER AND CAUSE IT TO SAY "OL" OVERLOAD.

If the manufacture wont stand by their product, RUN!!

I bought this machine in late 2007. I loved it until the main tub and the outer tub stick together causing it to not float. This causes it to think it's overloaded when it's not. I have to manually "Drain and Spin" and hope the same error doesn't come up. This means I'll wash the same small load 3-4 times.

What's worse is the tech that came out said this is common and it's a $730 complicated fix. If you just happen to be past 1 year you're screwed. Whirlpool wont cover it. So now I stuck with the choice of spending $730 and hoping that all the other problems that are on these reviews don't happen or buying another washer less than 3 years after I spent $900 for this one.....

THANKS WHIRLPOOL!!!........DON'T BUY ONE!!!!! WITH ALL THESE COMPLAINTS IT'S RUSSIAN RULET!

Por cabrioproblems - Jul 18, 2009

Cabrio Disappointment

Puntos Fuertes: Energy Star rating, large loads, ability to wash quilts and comforters

Puntos Débiles: Reliability

I purchased my Sixth Sense Cabrio washer and dryer less than two years ago, and was noticing a noise during the spin cycle. The repairman just told me that I need a $360 repair on this almost new machine, for a bad main bearing: they have to replace the whole tub for that! I took a second job to pay for my washer and dryer, after years of using very old ones, which never gave me any trouble, by the way. I have contacted Whirlpool, but have little hope that they will reimburse me for at least the parts for my repairs. I'm a single mom, and can't afford these repairs-I'm about ready to buy a used washer and junk this one. Any comments? I am angry and disappointed, and in a state of disbelief that a company could promote a product that functions so poorly, yet costs so much money.

Por madisonx1 - Apr 13, 2009

Cabrio Nightmare

Puntos Fuertes: should be energy efficient, should do large loads to save time and energy.

Puntos Débiles: It constantly unbalances.

Once it unbalances it refilles the huge tub to try and rebalance the load (so now our "energy star" washer uses 3 times the water it should) after two attempts at rebalancing it shuts down. Then you get to reposition the load by hand and it will usually finish without a problem.
Whirlpool has sent out three diferent service companies out with no success on fixing this problem. One service company sent by whirlpool even refused to touch it stating " I'm not getting involved with that nightmare of a machine"
Whirlpool will not even discuss replacing this lemon. So much for Whirlpools dependability!!

Por sadcabrioowner - Feb 5, 2007

WORST SET I HAVE EVER BOUGHT!!

Puntos Fuertes: IT IS WHITE

Puntos Débiles: ALL

THIS IS THE WORST SET I HAVE EVER BOUGHT. I CAN'T EVEN REMEMBER EVERTHING THAT HAS GONE WRONG WITH BOTH OF THEM THE MOMENT I BROUGHT THEM IN MY HOUSE!!! I BELIEVE EVERY THING THAT COULD POSSIBLY BE REPLACED...HAS BEEN REPLACED

Por monicaatwood - Apr 3, 2009

WARNING: DO NOT PURCHASE

Puntos Fuertes: Looks like it should be a nice system

Puntos Débiles: Everything - Leaks, CPU malfunctions

With this many bad reviews, be aware that your playing russian roulette in buying this washer. The systems has been a constant problem - from the CPU malfunctions, Door lock issues, water leakage, quick rusting, poor service from whirlpool, problem of not washering because the clothes are uneven. The "bad" list can go on and on. The looks are the only positive.

Por arlyn007 - Dec 31, 2008

Don't waste your money

Puntos Fuertes: Clean greats when it works

Puntos Débiles: Wrinkles clothes when it works

Purchased the Cabrio set 12/30/06 and I loved they way both W&D worked until 7 days after 90 day return policy ended. The dreaded F51 starts flashing and beaping. Called Sears and Whirlpool and it would be two weeks before repairman could arrive to take a look..NOW, 3 weeks later F51 is back and I have to wait 2-3 more weeks for repairman to return again. Sears and Whirlpool neither care if the piece of junk is repaired. The repair people don't even know how to repair...took 1 1/2 hours with telephone and computer to repair?!?! It was suggested that I purchase the extended warranty because of the expense of repairs after the 1st year. So that tells me that I should make plans to see the repairman every few months. I think I will save my money for the extended warranty and pay my attorney fees for my lawsuit. Check out other websites on feed back and you will find that all Cabrio machines are having BIG PROBLEMS. Makes since why Sears purchased K-Mart!

Por donnadin - May 5, 2007

the worst washer ever

Puntos Fuertes: none yet

Puntos Débiles: never worked, doesnt spin or clean, ruins clothes, leaves residue, has to be unplugged constantly, has to be restarted 4 or 5 times for one load

We have had this washer 3 months. It washed 4 loads of clothes and stopped spinning, we get errors, have to unplug the machine and we have finally resorted to taking our clothes to the laundrymat while we wait for service. This is the absolute worst machine I ever owned. T he one i got for 25 bucks on craigs list was way better and I think we are at the point of asking lowes to take it back and give us a different brand machine. I have been researching and now see there was similiar problems they recalled and fixed but put out new models that have the exact same problems. bad product, stay far away.

Por JenniferGordon91 - Jul 6, 2011

What was I thinking

Puntos Fuertes: little

Puntos Débiles: lid is way too heavy; very temperamental;

I bought this machine 1 1/2 years ago. It was a very costly mistake. I was talked into buying this machine because of the large tub capacity. Day one this lid fell down onto my son's thumb breaking off the entire nail. I knew that this was a dangerous feature having windshield glass for a lid. I called to return it and the store would not take it back. After contacting Whirlpool via e-mail and telephone, they were of no help to me either. This machine is certainly not work the price. It is a safety hazard. Don't waste your money.
I will never buy another whirlpool product because of the way they treated me.

Por GSpellsull - May 24, 2009

JUNK

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: EVERYTHING

Throws waters all over the floor, goes off balance every load, won't turn on. Bought 5/05/2007 had problems from first day, repairman came out again today ordering parts that have been replaced already can't seem to be able to fix it.Have Master Protection agreement 5/05/2011 will keep calling for repair.

Por junkto2011 - May 21, 2009

whirlpool cabrio

Puntos Fuertes: technology

Puntos Débiles: everything else

Just bought the w/d set 3 days ago. Washer takes forever and packs clothes so tight they can't dry even if the dryer worked. Dryer hasn't worked correctly since delivery. Have seen an "AF" signal. Clothes don't dry. takes two cycles on "heavy" to dry a small load of children's clothes. Have changed the vent hose, etc. Nothing. Called WP and they "haven't heard of 'AF'".
Sending them back tomorrow

Por bvdpm1 - Feb 12, 2008

Very good Washer!!!

Puntos Fuertes: Size, noise level, size and size!!!!

Puntos Débiles: Can rip clothes if you over stuff the machine.

I looked over these reviews, after I bought mine about 8 months ago, and was going to return it. I am now very glad that I did not.

After using the washer I learned that you need to use it a little differently then other machines.

- You can not over load it, because the plate will move but your clothes will not, which may tear them.

-If the load is not level it is better if you fix it then waiting for the washer to do it, which usually only happens with blankets and other bulky items.

-I only use the high speed spin when washing towels or blankets. You should use medium speed for your clothes to avoid wrinkles.

Used properly the Cabrio is a fantastic washing machine!!!

Por Momamia - Feb 23, 2008

Don't waste your money on the Whirlpool Cabrio washer or dryer!

Puntos Fuertes: Fairly quiet

Puntos Débiles: Everything else

When we purchased the Cabrio Washer and dryer from Lowes and they refused to change the dryer door hang we should have left both items in the store. We are very disappointed with the washer, which is, again tonight having a temper tantrum. For the past two hours I have not been able to dry a load of jeans. One problem with these appliances after another. Don't waste your money like we did.

Por zharris1119 - Apr 2, 2009

Cabrio WTW6600SW1 Junk!

Puntos Fuertes: Big loads!

Puntos Débiles: Cleans poorly! Ours broke down in 6 months!

Faulty lock/lid mechanism design. Lock switch doesn't function correctly because the lock lever can travel too far, so the switch opens when it should be closed. Magnetic reed relay switch also functions like crap. No apparent lid adjustment to bring magnet/lid closer to switch assembly. Bad design. I duct taped an extra magnet on the lid to get switch to activate. Sad!!!

Being an engineer I tried to adjust the lid to move it closer to the switch and shattered the glass. Replacement glass is $300. What a joke. If your wife says whe wants this machine I suggest divorcing her!

Thing cleans like crap too!

Por reljr - Aug 27, 2007

NIGHTMARE OF A WASHER AND DRYER-DONT BUY IT

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: everything

BOUGHT SET AND WITHIN A WEEK-WASHER READ UL AND LEAKED ALL OVER THE FLOOR-IN ADDITION IT TORE MY CLOTHES UP AND SOMEHOW SUCKED THEM UNDER THE TUB.THE WASHER HAD THE TUB THE OUTER RINGS, THE AGITATER, AND GOD KNOWS WHAT ELSE REPLACED.THE DRYER DID NOT FILTER LINT PROPERLY AND HAD TO HAVE THE ENTIRE BACK OF THE DRYER REPLACED. AND BETWEEN THE TWO - HAD 8 DIFFERENT SERVICE CALLS AND 3 DIFFERENT COMPANIES-ONLY TO CONTINUE TO HAVE THE ISSUE. CALLED WHIRLPOOL SO MANY TIMES I HAD THE NUMBERS MEMORIZED-NO HELP AT ALL-EVEN BOUGHT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY-FOR NOTHING-REPLACED EVERYTHING YOU COULD THINK OF-STILL NO HELP -FINALLY GAVE UP-
WELL NOT REALLY-CONTACTED THE BETTER BUSINESS BEREAU- AND ALMOST IMMEDIATELY(IT FELT THAT WAY AFTER GOING THROUGH THIS FOR A YR)I GOT A RESPONSE FROM WHIRLPOOL CORPORATE-
I HAD TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $450 BECAUSE I REFUSED TO ALLOW ANOTHER CABRIO SET AS A REPLACEMENT-BUT I HAVE THE DUETS NOW AND HOPEFULLY WHEN EVERYONE WHO READS THIS FOLLOOWS THROUGH AND CONTACTS THE BBB THAT DEALS WITH WHIRLPOOL DIRECT- AND WE HAVE A CLASS ACTION SUIT-I WILL GET BACK THE $ AND TIME I HAVE SPENT TRYING TO FIX THIS NIGHTMAREAND YOU WILL ALL HAVE YOUR $ BACK AND A REPLACEMENT!...SEE BELOW FOR THE INFORMATION-


BBB of Western Michigan (Grand Rapids, MI)
40 Pearl NW, Ste. 354
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone: (616)774-8236
Fax: (616)774-2014
Email: bbbinfo@iserv.net
Web: www.westernmichigan.bbb.org


Por triciacal - Feb 14, 2008

cabrio 6th sense technology

Puntos Fuertes: works good for about 9 months

Puntos Débiles: motor and computor board need replaced ONE YEAR AND ONE DAY AFTER DELIVERY!!!!!!

WE LIKED THE WASHER THINKING THAT 999.75 would get us threw a couple years but l guess not. there happens to be two people in are home. That is pretty sad.

Por robnconnie - Jun 10, 2008

Goodbye Whirpool - you lost a customer forever!

Puntos Fuertes: None

Puntos Débiles: Loud, breaks to often and too soon!

I have had Whirpool Cabrio set for 4 years. The washer had to be fixed twice in year 3 and 4. Now the dryer started making squeaky noises. I am disappointed with a HORRIBLE HORRIBLE BAD quality of this product. This is my first and last Whirpool purchase!

Por Rzena1971 - Nov 23, 2011

Love my Cabrio Washer and Dryer. Mine has full agitator! Don't go w/o it!

Puntos Fuertes: Cleans large loads easly. Two comforters in 1 wash! The softner container stays put. The water comes out in a way all the laundry gets wet from the begining.

Puntos Débiles: Nothing w/the washer. Dryer... It would be nice if the lint screen was in the front at the door. It is on top. The dryer plastic front should always be checked for a crack at the top due to MF style.

I purchased a very nice front load washer and dryer from Lowe's. The latest in tech. I returned them after few weeks. Due to lack of someone to service the washer and dryer in my area. So I called my best friend who sold washer and dryers at Sears for years and she told me to buy the Cabrio with the agitator! That it is the same as the Oasis. Not to buy the one w/o the agitator. I have had to use other washer and dryers since and it makes me LOVE the Cabrio all the more. I do have extended warranties on both machines just in case. I had the dryer plastic replace due to it being shipped cracked at the top center, you have to be down on the floor to see it. That took just a few days and no hastes. I have had them for almost a year now. And I highly recommend them. I have a young boy who is all boy and stinky like one too. My other washer didn't get the smell out. I would have to wash his bedding and clothes twice. I also have a shedding cat and long haired dog. The machines get it all out w/the first wash. They wash and dry my comforters much faster & more efficiently than any other dryer. The clear top is fun for my son to watch the clothes getting washed.

Por cabrioLover - Apr 22, 2007

Whirlpool does not stand behind this product

Puntos Fuertes: Less water, holds more clother

Puntos Débiles: NOISY,sounds like an airplane landing in our laundry room.

We bought this set 3 years and and the noise is getting worse each day. I can't do laundry during dinnertime since our laundry room is near the kitchen. We can't hear each other talk or watch the news in the kitchen if I'm doing laundry. We noticed that there was something spraying out the bottom and the repairman said that the seal was broken and water is getting into the motor and water/oil are coming out the bottom of the machine. Whirlpool offered to pay 1/2 for parts (they would not pay any labor) so I can get this fixed for $500 (Whirlpool paying $125 and we would pay $375). Nice of them to stand behind their product! This machine should last 10-12 years and now after 3 years we have to make some kind of decision. If we replace it, it won't be with a Whirlpool!

Por DEColip - Jul 21, 2010

Love our waher

Puntos Fuertes: Large loads, no pre-treating necessary, cleans very well, uses less detergent, quiet

Puntos Débiles: None

I absolutely love my washer! We have 5 young children and so our loads can be very large at times. This washer has always cleaned our clothes very well. Stains come out without any kind of treatments. I really can not say enough about it. I feel bad that others have not had as much success. Make sure to take the time to read through the manual. It will help you understand how to use your washer, and if codes come us blinking those codes are in the manual. I love it!

Por spameroo30 - Mar 29, 2010

Terrible washing machine,...

Terrible washing machine, don't even think of buying I would not recommend it at all.
Not only it takes 45 minutes to wash, the clothes are still stained and the whites are grey
not matter what I tried and if you don't take your clothes out right away they are all tangled. If I had to wash today when I had my 2 teenager at home it would take a whole day. Not happy at
all.

Por assuntaperl@videotron.ca_61836 - Aug 4, 2013

Look elsewhere!

If your clothes do not get dirty or stinky - this is the machine for you. I was assured that this machine used water and I could let my boys' clothes soak to get the stains and stink out. Not true. This machine does not use any more than the last machine (front loader) I had. I am very disappointed that I wasted my money on this machine. I have clothes come out smelling awful filled with spots that don't wash out. Clothes get twisted and stretched out. Delicates get destroyed in this washer. If I had an extra $1000 laying around, I definitely would trash this horrible machine and purchase one that works as a washer should! (IIf there were a rating of 0 - that truly would be the most appropriate!)

Por jjkeyes@live.com_3007786673 - Jul 7, 2013

cabrio washer is Junk

I purchased this washer less then a year ago. It is already broken. It will cost hundreds to fix. I am going and buying something else with the hundreds and sears you can have this piece of crap back.

Por pambinder - Jun 18, 2013

GLAD IT FINALLY DIED!

My first impressions when I purchased this very expensive machine was that the clothes came out horribly wrinkled. I set it to the lowest spin and still wrinkled but I lived with it because I liked the large capacity and the clothes came out clean. After 5 1/2 years I got the infamous F1 code and it was going to cost $300 to fix and decided not to put money into this. Kept running down to reset the code and the washer would restart, but I was never so anxious for an appliance to die. Then after a few months it stopped draining and I had to drip-dry clothes outside. I finally had it. Sad to say in the beginning when I liked this machine I recommended it to my sister-in-law. I'm suprised she still speaks to me. It shreds her towels and facecloths, wrinkles gallore and she hates the machine. I now have an LG front loader and so far love it. When I told salesmen I had a Cabrio they rolled their eyes and said it's a piece of junk. To get only 6 years out of a washer this expensive is obscene. I cheered when it was hauled away.

Por bobbet17@charter.net_532008531 - May 5, 2013

Consumer

Puntos Fuertes: NONE

Puntos Débiles: Will not clean clothes thoroughly..

This is the absolute worse washing machine I ever had...it will not remove any stains..I must pre treat each stain and wash and repeat multiple times ...some stains still will not come out so out with garment.Forgetabout large capacity....I have to do way fewer clothes than in my old top loader.So I am not saving any money.I emailed whirlpool and got a standard email reply.Will never purchase another whirlpool made appliance EVER again.

By anonymous; - Apr 25, 2013

The Whirlpool Cabrio WTW6400SW is a...

The Whirlpool Cabrio WTW6400SW is a high-end top loading washing maching, which falls in the middle of the Cabrio product line offered by Whirlpool. This washer is Energy Star qualified, and saves up to 44% water and 55% energy compared to conventional top-load washers. The large 4.6 cu. ft I.E.C. capacity stainless steel wash basket allows you to wash three hampers of laundry in a single load....
Leer Reseña Completa

By productwiki.com - Jul 20, 2011